Windows Server 2016 Editions, Pricing, Availability, Features


Windows Server 2016 is the next version of Microsoft’s server operating system. Being developed in line with Windows 10, its first technical preview came out in October 2014. The OS is still in beta stage but Microsoft has finally confirmed its final release.

Along with this news, Microsoft has also delineated how Windows Server 2016 will be serviced going forward. In earlier versions of Windows Server, it was serviced and supported with a “5+5” model meaning that there will be 5 years of mainstream support and 5 years of extended support. This continues with Windows Server 2016 as well, the only difference being the nomenclature. Customers who choose to install full Windows Server 2016 with a Desktop GUI or Server Core will maintain the same servicing experience which will be known as Long Term Servicing Branch (LTSB).

Windows Server 2016 Editions


Windows Server comes in 3 main editions:

  1. Datacenter Edition: Donning all the basic capabilities of Windows Server, this edition will provide substantial efficacy to the Organization with a requirement for unlimited virtualization coupled with robust new features.
  2. Standard Edition: Quintessential for Organization with a need for limited virtualization, this model brings forth a general purpose yet a sturdy Server Operating System.
  3. Essentials: Targeted for smaller Organization comprising no more than 50 users, this edition provides limited capabilities as per your requirement.

Windows Server 2016 MultiPoint Premium Server, Windows Storage Server 2016 and Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016 are the other editions.

System Center Configuration Manager

Location of SMSTS.LOG

Before your hard drive is formatted and partitioned



After your hard drive is partitioned formatted

X:\smstslog\ and then is in C:\_SMSTaskSequence\logs\smstslog\


Within Windows

Within Windows before the SCCM agent is installed:



Within Windows after the SCCM agent installed:



When the Task Sequence completes on a x86


For x64 Systems: C:\windows\SysWOW64\ccm\logs\    

 Just copy on to a network share

Net use M: \\networkshare

 Copy or xcopy X:\Windows\Temp\SMSTS.log \\networkshare



Depending on the deployment phase, SMSTS.log will have the location shared in the following table:

Phase Location
Windows PE

(Before the hard disk are formatted)

Windows PE

(After the hard disk are formatted)

x:\smstslog\smsts.log and copied to c:\_SMSTaskSequence\Logs\Smstslog\smsts.log
Windows Operating System

(Before the SCCM client is installed)

Windows Operating System

(After the SCCM client is installed)

Windows Operating System

(When the Task Sequence is complete)



When a Task Sequence Deployment fails with an error, proceed as the following to extract the required log files:

Click on F8 when the Task Sequence fails to display the command prompt window.